Decoration Through Design…

Unsure of how to decorate your wall?

A wonderful way is to print off your favourite designs/pictures and hang them up. This way, you end up with something one of a kind and most importantly something that truly reflects you and your tastes. Why spend hundreds on wall decor when you can make your own for free!!

This way, you get to add a whole new level of personality to your previously plain room, and it’s also a really easy way to inject colour into your space!

Some of the images that I hang in my room is a postcard featuring ‘Madonna and Saint Anne’ by Leonardo DaVinci that I borrowed’ from my old school’s art room. I hang this on the side of my wardrobe as it’s warm colours look great against the wooden pine.

aa8c312fdf76f34e06a88916ec13d53b

Another picture I have is my absolute favourite painting ever! ‘Girl with a Pearl Earring’ by Johannes Vermeer takes pride of place in my room, right above my desk, where I can get a perfect view of it from every angle. I’ve just always loved this beautiful piece of artwork. This painting is also my computer’s wallpaper!

Johannes_Vermeer_1632-1675_-_The_Girl_With_The_Pearl_Earring_1665

I was scrolling through my Pinterest feed the other day and I was instantly caught by the beauty of the photo below. I just love the angle that the picture was taken at, it’s so recognisable yet it seems like you’re looking at a picture from a museum or an advertisement in a magazine. I think I’ll be hanging this one up in my room. There’s no place like home!

ruby_slippers_blood_of_the_lamb

I’m a huge fan of historic photographs! I recently picked up a ’50 Photos You Should Know’ lookbook in the National Art Gallery gift shop and at this stage, the pages are nearly worn I’ve flicked through it that much! One of the book’s photos that really struck a chord with me is this one taken on the day the Berlin Wall fell. I love the in-action shot and the history behind it. A statement like this one can complete any room!

Picture1

“Your home should tell the story of who you are, and be a collection of what you love.”

– Nate Berkus, Interior Designer

Leave a Reply

